Politics 08-10-2018

Brazilian President Dilma Rousseff fails to win Senate seat

Brazilian President Dilma Rousseff (2011-2016) was not elected senator for the state of Minas Gerais (southeast), in what was her expected return to an elective office, according to the 49% vote of the votes of that district.

The exmandataria of the Workers' Party (PT) appears with 14.07% of the votes, in fourth position, although she started as a clear favorite in all the polls.

Each Brazilian state is entitled to two seats in the Senate.

The figures of the partial count indicate that those places by Minas Gerais will be occupied by Rodrigo Pacheco (Democrats) and Carlos Viana (Solidary Humanist Party), which has 21.6 and 21% support respectively.

Rousseff was dismissed in 2016 at a political trial in Congress.


Consulte a nuestros especialistas